Being Able To Take Advice

Today was an interesting day for me. I spoke to a friend of mine and was giving her some advice about something and she immediately got offended and tried to justify what she was doing knowing that it was wrong. We have been friends for a very long time and we’ve gone through this even in our teenage years and many times I was at the other side of the spectrum where she would try to tell me something for my own good and I had my mind made up that I was going to what I wanted going do regardless of what anyone had to say about it and I didn’t even care. When you care for someone you always want whats best for them and you never want them to put themselves in a situation that will cause them pain or heartache. I was very calm about it and I expressed how I felt about it but she had a comeback for everything until she got to the point where she said she had already prayed about it before she went forward with her decision. I was very tactful by telling her well I just want you to think about what I said and reflect on it and her response is there is nothing for me to reflect on. She said she prayed about it and I thought about what she said and I responded “you know what you are right you’ve already prayed about it; so it’s between you and God so I will just leave it alone we can change the subject” She began to speak in a very condescending, and sarcastic manner stating that she had told me in the beginning that she had already prayed about it and yet in still I continued expressing my opinion. The situation began to escalate and I felt myself getting upset so I told her that I was not going to argue with her and I was done with it; I told her goodbye and hung up the phone.

When everything calmed down and I thought about it. I realized that she had the same situation happen with a friend of hers that she gave advice to, and stated her opinion about something, and the young lady was offended and stop speaking to her. She explained it to me thoroughly the fact that she said it out of caring for her and not wanting to see her hurt by making the wrong decision. My intentions were good and I meant no harm. If we give advice we should be able to receive it. We need true friends in our lives to tell us the truth who have our best interest in mind.If you have a friend that see you doing something that can hurt you and they don’t say anything then they are not your friend. I have learned how to give advice as well as receiving it, and it has given me wisdom and understanding which is worth more than any precious jewel that money can buy. This was a lesson for me as well sometimes we just need to let people make their mistakes and just be there for them when they need us. There has been many times when my brother would tell me that something or someone I was involved with was not good for me, and I too would get so upset that I would say to him ” well I know what I am doing” the end result would be that he was right; I could hear his voice ringing in my head with his good advice and wisdom taunting me. My pride made me feel like he was taunting me and I would come back to him feeling ashamed about my mistake and he would never tell me I told you so; instead he would just let me vent by telling me” It’s going to be o.k. we live and we learn just take this as a learning experience”. He would just give me a hug and let me cry on his shoulder and I am so grateful for that. I learned from him that we speak up out of love and concern not out of malice and hate. It is time to evaluate ourselves and try to make sure that we our not easily offended by the ones we know for a fact are in our corner.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Being Able To Take Advice

      1. You are nearly there…just keep writing and editing your blogs as your skills get better. You will love it. I’m having the issue with the lack of frequency of my posts. My schedule doesn’t allow me to jot these many ideas in my head down on my blog.

        Like

  1. Thanks for the encouragement. You can post more frequently if you just try to set aside some time a schedule that you can stick with even if its just 30 minutes a day. That is what I had to do just to get started. I’ve been wanting to do this for so long but my time management skills were not on point at all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

